LKN Summer Jazz 2015

NEWS: The Lake Norman Big Band hosted our 2015 Summer Jazz Celebration.  This was an inspiring, educational event (band camp if you will) for our group.  For the public, it was an opportunity to hear our band featuring a couple of the finest jazz saxophone artists around.  The band kicked off the event with a two hour rehearsal on Friday evening and then spent the entire day on Saturday in sectionals and full ensemble rehearsals.  The culmination of the weekend was a concert on Saturday evening, Aug. 22nd in the sanctuary of Williamson's Chapel United Methodist Church in Mooresville, NC.

Our featured guest artist was preeminent saxophonist, Mr. James Riggs from Denton, Texas.  Mr. Riggs is Regents Professor Emeritus of the University of North Texas College of Music Jazz Studies, and Performance Divisions.  From 1993 until his retirement in August 2008, Riggs taught Applied Saxophone, Jazz Style and Analysis, and directed the Two O'Clock Lab Band.  He holds degrees from the University of North Texas and the University of Toledo.  Mr. Riggs is an artist/clinician for Rico International.  He has produced many award-winning saxophonists including Dr. Will Campbell, who is the Director of Jazz Studies and Associate Professor of Saxophone at UNC Charlotte.  Dr. Campbell joined his mentor as an instructor, and played in the band for The 2015 Summer Jazz Celebration concert.

James Riggs               Will Campbell



The 2015 Summer Jazz Celebration concert program:

    Pegasus – composed and arranged by Hank Levy

    I Thought About You - composed by Jimmy Van Heusen, arranged by Billy Byers

    Perdido - composed by Juan Tizol, arranged by Urbie Green

    Sophisticated Lady (Trumpet section feature) - composed by Duke Ellington, arranged by Curt Wilson

    Lonely Street - composed and arranged by Sammy Nestico

    Skippin’ - composed and arranged by Jack Petersen

    Moondance (Trombone section feature) - composed by Van Morrison, arranged by Eric Goldstein

    Out Of Nowhere - composed by Johnny Green, arranged by Bill Holman 

    Prohibido (Saxophone section feature) composed by Benny Carter, edited by DuBoff and Sultanof

    My Foolish Heart - composed by Victor Young, arranged by Neil Slater

    Take the A Train - composed by Billy Strayhorn, arranged by Jeff Tyzik

The Lake Norman Big Band is made possible in part, with funding by the Arts and Science Council and the North Carolina Arts Council, an agency of the Department of Cultural Resources, and the National Endowment for the Arts, which believes that a great nation deserves great art.

The Lake Norman Big Band
P.O. Box 4114
Mooresville, NC 28117

Contact: Richard Spangler
Website Builder